Fresh Thoughts: 100% Organic


B. P. #13: The end of Disgrace
November 2, 2009, 2:58 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The end of Disgrace was really odd to me. I was expecting there to be a lot more resolution to the problems that David and Lucy encountered than there was. I was so shocked that Lucy was pregnant and also that she wanted to keep the child. I could only imagine what Lucy must have gone through, living right next door to one of the men who raped her, and who could also potentially be the father of her child.

Another thing that really bothered me was the reaction that Petrus had to the entire situation. The fact that he offered to marry Lucy in order to protect her? But really he just wanted her land? I can only assume that is the culture in South Africa, and that I am just seeing this all from an American perspective, but I am so shocked that Petrus changed drastically from a friend to a greedy business man. When we first met Petrus, I wouldn’t have thought that he would be so cruel to Lucy, even if it meant he could rise to a higher class standing.

Another part that I thought was really strange was David’s opera. What on earth was up with that? His obsession was just so strange and then he never even got it together. Some parts even seemed like David was schizophrenic or something. The whole thing just seemed strange.


7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The way Petrus acted is really screwed up and Lucy is going to marry him?! She is nuts and she has clearly given up, she gave up her land, her life to have a child she feels nothing for and forcing herself into a sad life. Her only hope is that she will learn to love her child.

Comment by stevens89

I think David realized that accepting the situation is the best way to handle his life. This is the reason why any specific resolution is not stated at the end.

Comment by Ryohsuke Aoki

You have brought up a great point here: I am so shocked that Petrus changed drastically from a friend to a greedy business man. When we first met Petrus, I wouldn’t have thought that he would be so cruel to Lucy, even if it meant he could rise to a higher class standing.” When I reflect back on the novel he was the “dogman” and seemed like a really nice and helpful guy. When he attained land and money this is where he shifted from being nice to greedy. With this I am thinking that Petrus stayed quiet in the beginning for a reason: he knew what he wanted and how to get it without showing that he has much to do with it to Lucy. Its sad that Lucy has literally given up everything and it seems that David has given up also. Maybe this is the lesson Lucy and David learned–a lesson of sacrifice. Nice post!

Comment by sjordan740

I think David thought the best what he did. So he did not state for the ending. However, I wonder still why he thought the situation was the best for him…

Comment by tetsuya

I agree with you here. I, for one, did not really like the ending to Disgrace. I think that David did change a little from the beginning of the book, but not by much, and I think that Petrus was somehow involved with what happened to Lucy and David at the house.

Comment by Mike Hill

I was also expecting a resolution to this book. I was highly disappointed that nothing happens. Nothing gets resolved and no one changes. I understand that this book is representing ‘real life’ and that sometimes there are so solutions, but i feel that after what happens to Lucy and David, they would change. Lucy has the opportunity to leave her land and go live a better life but yet she stays. I just cant make any sense of it. I also dont understand Petrus’ reaction to the whole thing. It is very confusing.

Comment by caroline

The ending leaves so much to be decided, and I believe the author does so deliberately. If everything was resolved in a pleasant manner, would be discussing the significance of events in South Africa? Most likely not. Petrus is a shrewd business man, and not a character which I was fond of. Yet, Lucy dug her own grave when she agree to marry him and stay on the land.

Comment by Hunter Leo UAH




Leave a comment