Fresh Thoughts: 100% Organic


B. P. #19: Some More Caucasia
November 22, 2009, 11:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

One part of this section that I really loved was Birdie/Jesse’s relationship with Nicholas. I was rooting for them to be together, and I loved that he treated her with care on that crazy night that they both got high. Then when they met up again at the party, I was thrilled!

Someone else to complain about: Jim. Oh man, I wish Sandy/Sheila had never met him. He made me want to punch him in the face, both with his horrible attempts to befriend Birdie and the fact that he completely stole Sandy away from her daughter. I was glad when that kid punched him in the face, I wished he would have gotten punched a few more times.

I also wondered about the mare’s name – Mr. Pleasure? That is just about the strangest name for a female horse that I have ever heard. I loved that Mr. Pleasure was Birdie’s favorite horse, and that it had a strange name, like Birdie.

Another character that was introduced in this section was Mona. I loved Mona, and her horrible makeup and bad attitude. I could just picture her with her horrible 80’s hair and her horrible 80’s blue eye shadow. I loved that Birdie found a group to fit in with so easily at her new school, but I hated that everyone there was so racist.

I couldn’t believe the way that they treated Samantha, the only black girl. I thought the scene where Birdie and Samantha meet to pee in the woods at the party was really interesting. If Samantha knew that Cole was Black, it is mind boggling to think that she didn’t make any attempt to show it. I thought maybe Samantha was just really put off by Birdie’s group of obviously racist friends.

I loved Birdie’s random encounter with Rap music outside the museum steps in New York City. I could just picture Birdie hearing the rap for the first time and running over without shame to dance with the other Black kids.

The end of this section of the novel really has me concerned! I hope that Birdie doesn’t end up just running away and getting lost. I hope that she can at least decide to stay in New Hampshire, or else find some of her long lost family!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love Birdie and Nicholas too! I think they’re so cute together and I was so happy that he was at the party. I liked how he said that “she’ll be mine in a couple of years” lol.

Comment by melissaghoneybee




Leave a comment